District Awards

Many volunteers go above and beyond. Although they would never seek such recognition, these men and women deserve to be recognized for their efforts. They do jobs at every level of scouting; from Den Leader to Scoutmaster to District Committee. Some work on multiple levels, always ready to help scouts and their community. 

You can submit your nominations any time before February 8, 2021, for the following awards.

District Award of Merit

The highest recognition the District can bestow upon an individual. The award is presented to registered volunteer Scouters for noteworthy service to youth.

Nominate a Leader Now

H. Virgil Bower Unit Leader Award (Clay County)

An exclusive award of the Golden Eagle District bestowed upon Unit Leaders (Cubmaster, Scoutmaster, or Crew Advisor). One dedicated Unit Leader is chosen each year.

Nominate a Leader Now

Scouter of the Year (Platte County)

An exclusive award of the Northern Lights District bestowed upon scouters. One dedicated scouter is chosen each year.

Nominate a Leader Now

Council Awards

Silver Beaver

The Silver Beaver is the highest award that a council can present to its volunteers. The Silver Beaver Award is presented upon action of a Council Executive Board of one of the BSA's local Councils or the Direct Service Council for outstanding service to youth within the Council or for outstanding longtime service to youth by a registered Scouter residing within that Council.

Nomination Form should be forwarded to the District Director.

Mic-O-Say Recognitions

  • Tribal Council - this responsibility is not given as a recognition for past service, it is nonetheless reasonable, that an individual’s talents, abilities, dedication to, understanding of the Scouting principles and loyalty to the values and educational experiences of the H. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation, be examined to help determine the likelihood of success in this service role. Due by January 15. View Past Tribal Council Elevations. Nominate a Tribesman Now

Order of the Arrow Recognitions 

  • Vigil Honor - the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to lodge, council, and Scouting. Membership cannot be won by a person's conscious endeavors . Due by July 1. View Past Vigil Honor Classes. Nominate an Arrowman Now